Click here to return to the LMHS Home Page
Hospital Locations

Physician Search

Choose a search method from the list below:


Health Information


Regional Advisory Committee

On Trauma Services

The Regional Advisory Committee on Trauma Services was formed early in 2005 by the Lee County Trauma Services District Board of Directors. The Regional Advisory Committee is a key component in the process of involving the citizens served by the five-county trauma district.

This 13-member committee is comprised of representatives from each of the five counties served in the Lee County Trauma Services District. Each representative brings a vast array of knowledge and experience from which they contribute innovative ways of thinking with respect to educating the public about the Lee Memorial trauma Center. Another key function of the Regional Advisory Committee is to monitor the advent of possible revenue streams from which the LMHS trauma center could be funded.

The recommendations of the advisory committee are valued by the Lee County Trauma District Board of Directors, and the members' ability to monitor the "pulse of the community" is regarded as vital to the success of the LMHS trauma center mission. The Regional Advisory Committee on Trauma Services for fiscal year 2010 is:

  • Chris Hansen, Co-Chair, LMHS Board and district Trauma Board, representing Lee County
  • Patricia Harrington, Ph.D., Co-Chair, Epidemiologist, Centers for Disease Control, representing Hendry County
  • Carol Barclay, Former President, League of Women Voters, representing Lee County
  • Pat Barton, Legislative Appointee, Florida Substance Abuse/Mental Health Corp., representing Collier County
  • David Ciccarello, Esq., Knott, Consoer, Ebelini, Hart & Swett, representing Lee County
  • Jim Coletta, Collier County Commissioner, representing Collier County
  • Joe Flint, Glades County Clerk of Court, representing Glades County
  • Sal Grosso, Retired Phone Co. Exec., Mbr. Lee Cty. Republican Exec. Comm., representing Lee County
  • Tammy Hall, Lee Cty. Commissioner, representing Lee County
  • Deborah Harrington, Board of Trustees, Charlotte Regional Medical Ctr., representing Charlotte County
  • Dick Helms, CPA, Miller, Helms & Folk, representing Lee County
  • Bob Starr, Charlotte County Commissioner, representing Charlotte County
  • Donna Storter Long, Glades County Commissioner, representing Glades County
  • Robert Boyd Tober, M.D., Medical Dir. Collier Cty., EMS & Neighborhood Health Ctr., representing Collier County


Links to Services

Trauma Center Home

About Us

Trauma Surgeons

Lee County Trauma Services District

Regional Advisory Committee on Trauma Services

Trauma Facts

Outreach Services

Trauma Stories

Make a Donation

Contact Us

Emergency Services

LMHS Home Page

Trauma Facts

Since the Florida Legislature created the state's first trauma legislation in 1982, no consistent and sustained funding source for the trauma centers has been established on the state level.

In 1982, when Florida's first trauma legislation was passed, there were 50 trauma centers state-wide. Today, there are 21 state designated trauma centers operating in Florida.

The Florida trauma centers that have surrendered their trauma designation have done so due to the overwhelming financial commitments required to make a trauma center a clinically viable operation.

In 2004, more than 31,000 Florida residents and visitors were treated in a trauma center in Florida.


home  |  about us  |  services  |  locations  | employmentpatient billing  |  press room  |  events  |  foundation

HIPAA | privacy policy | did you find it? | medical staff | send a link | get well card